We researched 15 gluten-free and widely available chocolate bars to fill any occasion with cheer. Use our helpful guide to safely select the best bar.  

Elizabeth Laseter
May 30, 2017
Each product we feature has been independently selected and reviewed by our editorial team. If you make a purchase using the links included, we may earn commission.

Whether it’s topped with nuts, swirled with peanut butter, or filled with caramel, chocolate tops shoppers’ lists from Valentine’s Day to Easter to Halloween. The chocolate bar may reign as one of the best-selling and most popular candies throughout the year, but what do you do if you are gluten-free? Thankfully, there are plenty of delicious, gluten-free chocolate bars on the shelves these days.

The best way to know if a chocolate bar contains gluten is to read the label—our five tips will guarantee that you’re making a safe choice.

  1. Read the entire label, every single time. Many companies, such as Hershey, list gluten-free candies on their website. However, because ingredients in some varieties can change on occasion, most companies (including Hershey) will strongly suggest checking individual package labels regardless.
  2. Learn gluten sources. Familiarizing yourself with what ingredients contain gluten will help you quickly decipher chocolate bar labels.
  3. Know what “gluten-free” actually means. According to the FDA, a food must contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten in order to be labeled as “gluten-free.” Any company may use these words on its packaging, but the information must be presented in a truthful and not misleading way. For example, the words “gluten-free” appear on all Enjoy Life chocolate bars, but the company is very clear about its commitment to allergy-free foods.
  4. Know the difference between “wheat free” and “gluten-free.” Gluten is found in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale (a wheat and rye hybrid). If you see any of these ingredients on your chocolate bar, find an alternative
  5. Know the sneaky offenders. Some candies may be safe in one form, but not in another one. For example, while York Peppermint Patties are gluten-free, York Minis (the same candy in miniature form) are not.
Below, check these 15 popular gluten-free chocolate bars:

3 Musketeers Bar

Almond Joy Candy Bar

Baby Ruth


Dove Chocolate Bars

Enjoy Life Boom Choco Boom Chocolate Bars

Heath Toffee Bar

Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar

Oh Henry!

PayDay Peanut Caramel Bar

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

Scharffen Berger Chocolate Bars and Tasting Squares

SKOR Butter Toffee Bar

Snickers Bar

Amy's Dreamy Bar

Amy's Crunchy Bar

You May Like