Photo: Henry Horenstein / Getty

Candy corn is an iconic part of Halloween festivities, but it might not be friendly to all dietary lifestyles. Vegans and vegetarians need to know what ingredients to look out for when shopping for this tasty treat.

May 25, 2017

Often totally loved or extremely hated, candy corn can be a polarizing sweet. Trick-or-treaters, spooky witches, and even vegans can gain a hankering for it when fall weather hits.

But is candy corn vegan? The short answer is no. The long answer takes a bit of explaining. 

While the main components of candy corn, sugar and corn syrup, are vegan-friendly, extra ingredients make this dessert a no-no for plant-based eaters. The best selling candy corn brand, Brach's, includes gelatin which is made from animal tendons, ligaments, and bones. Many others contain confectioner's glaze or shellac, both glossy products created using the excretions of certain insects. 

Another touchy issue is candy corn's honey content. Some in the plant-based community consume honey, while other vegans abstain from it. While this is a personal choice, vegans who don't eat honey will find that honey-free candy corn is virtually non-existent. 

Homemade candy corn recipes may be what vegans turn to in hope, but they often call for butter or marshmallows (which also contain gelatin).