Brent Hofacker

Not always. Here’s how to make a safe choice when buying candy corn this Halloween season.  

May 25, 2017

No matter how much you love it (or hate it) candy corn is not for everyone, especially those who follow gluten-free diets. If you have Celiac disease, wheat allergies, or gluten intolerance, you will want to think twice before you reach for a handful of this kernel-shaped confectionery. The easiest way to tell if candy corn is gluten-free is to simply read the package label. The Celiac Disease Foundation offers a helpful primer. First, scan the ingredients list for anything containing gluten, keeping in mind sneaky sources. Next, look for allergen information, which is often found in fine print underneath the ingredients. If the candy corn was made in a facility where wheat, barley, rye, or triticale (a wheat/rye hybrid) are present, then it is not a safe choice.  

Read More: 5 Halloween Candies That Are Surprisingly Not Gluten-Free

If you have any hesitations over whether a product is gluten-free, contact the company directly. To help you shop smart, we researched three popular candy corn brands to tell you what’s safe and what should be avoided.Safe: 

 Jelly Belly Candy Company

Jelly Belly Candy Corn: According to its website, this candy corn is gluten-free. Find it at your local grocery or drug store. A & J Bakery Candy Corn: Based in Cranston, RJ, this bakery manufactures candy corn in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free facility. Order online, and they will ship to anywhere in country.  Avoid: Brach’s Candy Corn: Check the website or package label, and you’ll see that wheat products are present in the same production facility as the candy corn.

 Now that you know how to shop safe, indulge your candy corn sweet tooth without worry this Halloween by making these spook-tacular recipes:

 

Looking for more gluten-free candy? Check out our list of popular gluten-free Chocolate Bars.

You May Like